7 Hancock County students and 8 Washington County students were awarded Mitchell Scholarships. The 2020 recipients of the Mitchell Scholarship, representing more than 130 high schools from every community in Maine, each will receive a scholarship award for $10,000 to be paid in four equal installments of $2,500.

In an effort to help more Maine students attain higher education, the Mitchell Institute provides scholarships for Maine students planning to attend 2 and 4 -year degree programs at colleges both in- and out-of-state.

The following were selected as Mitchell Scholars

Hancock County

  • Katelyn Cloutier - Bucksport High School
  • James Harden - Sumner Memorial High School
  • Brenna Jones - Mount Desert Island High School
  • Benjamin Penfold - Deer Isle-Stonington High School
  • Maxfield Rhine - Blue Hill Harbor School
  • Eden Salzig - Ellsworth High School
  • Vanessa Sherwood - George Stevens Academy

Washington County

  • Tyler Alley - Jonesport-Beals High School
  • Kaci Alley - Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School
  • Jordyn Cowger - East Grand School
  • Emily Doten - Calais Middle/High School
  • Jaimie Fairchild - Washington Academy
  • Cassidee Lawrence - Shead High School
  • Megan Preston - Machias Memorial High School
  • Paige Sockabasin - Woodland Jr-Sr High School

More From WDEA Ellsworth Maine