New Law Means Maine Kids Stay In Car Seats Longer
Governor Janet Mills signed a new law this week that will extend the length of time children need to stay in car seats.
Under the new law, a child will need to stay in a rear-facing seat until the age of two. After 2-years-old, children must be in a front-facing car seat until they weigh 55 pounds, which is an increase from the previous 40 pound requirement. And children under 8-years-old, who weigh less than 80 pounds and are shorter than 57 inches, should be in booster seats.
Child Safety seats must be belted in, according to manufacturer specifications. The penalties for any violations of the law have been increased to a $70 fine for the first offense, $160 for the second offense, and $310 for the third offense.
More information about child safety seats can be found on the Safe Kids Maine website.