On Tuesday afternoon, July 21st the Bar Harbor Town Council met for the first time since the July 14th election.

In it's first action, with Town Clerk Sharon Linscott wielding the gavel, they needed to elect a Council Chair. When Linscott called for nominations, only 1 name was offered, that by Councilor Matt Hochman, who nominated outgoing chair Jeff Dobbs as Council Chair for the 2020-21 year. With no other names offered, and the vote was unanimous, 7-0 for Council Jeff Dobbs to be Council Chair.

With Dobbs now wielding the gavel, he called for nominations for Deputy Chair. Again, only 1 name was nominated, outgoing Deputy Chair Matt Hochman, by Councilor Joseph Minutolo. After nominations were closed, Council Matt Hochman was elected Deputy Chair unanimously, 7-0.

More From WDEA Ellsworth Maine