With the State of Maine moving the date of the election from June 9 to July 14, the deadline for filing nomination papers with the Bar Harbor Town Clerk has been extended to Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. from April 24th.

There are 3 Bar Harbor Town Council seats that will be contested in the July election. Councilors Stephen Coston, Erin Cough and Jill Goldthwaite seats are all expiring. They have all taken out papers for re-election as have Kevin Des Veaux, Valerie Peacock and Christopher Strout as of April 14th.

There are 2 Superintending School Committee seats that will be contested in the July election. Dwayne Bolt and Robin Sue Tapley's seats are expiring, and both have taken out papers for re-election.

Finally the seat of Sandy McFarland's seat as the MDI School District Trustee is expiring.. As of April 14th no one has taken out papers for this seat.

All seats being contested are 3 year terms.

Nomination papers must be returned with a minimum of 25 signatures. The Bar Habor Town Clerk suggests there be 35 signatures in the event that some are invalid.

Requests for nomination papers may be submitted by email to clerk@barharbormaine.gov and papers will be mailed to you.
The Bar Harbor Town Clerk's office offers these tips on obtaining signatures while social distancing:

  • candidates may leave nomination papers in a public location (i.e. a store, meeting hall or at the end of your driveway) and either contact people or generally advertise you are collecting signatures at that location.
  • A circulator of nomination papers does not need to actually witness the person signing the nomination papers.
  • Another way is to mail nomination papers to people for them to sign

Interested candidates or anyone with questions can call the Bar Harbor Town Clerk's Office at  288-4098 for more information

More From WDEA Ellsworth Maine