The Down East Family YMCA held its annual meeting and awards dinner at the Moore Community Center in Ellsworth on Wednesday, April 25th.

Peter Farragher the DEFY CEO presented plaques to

  • Joseph Domagala - The Outgoing Board Chairman
  • Jeff Buzzell - For 13 years of Board Service
  • Stephen Fay - For 20 years of Board Service

Both Buzzell and Fay are finishing their terms on the Board of Directors.

Shane Lowell the Youth Sports Director then introduced Andy Pooler, the Ellsworth Girls Varsity Basketball Coach who presented one of the Teddy Saunders Awards to Katelynn Bagley from Ellsworth High School. Then Don Driscoll, the GSA Varsity Swim Coach presented one of the Teddy Saunders Awards to Ava Sealander from George Stevens Academy. Finally Jim Goodman, the Ellsworth High School Varsity Swim Coach presented the final Teddy Saunders Award to Austin Baron from Ellsworth High School.

Tony McKim, the President and CEO of First National Bank then presented the James Russell Wiggins Service to Youth Award to Chris Popper from Townsquare Media.

Matt Montgomery, the Senior Program Director with DEFY presented the Maralyn "Pete" Turnbull Volunteer of the Year Award to Cynthia Cullinane.

At the end, Farragher presented YMCA Service pins to employees who had worked at the YMCA for 5, 10, 20 and 25 years.

More From WDEA Ellsworth Maine