On Saturday, January 27th the Ellsworth Wrestling Team competed in the Wrestling Tourney at Bucksport High School and finished 3rd out of 13 teams. Ellsworth ended the meet with 4 individual champions!

Photo Coach JF Burns
Photo Coach JF Burns

Senio Captain Peyton Cole won the 152 pound bracket, defeating Ricky Perkins of Bucksport by pinfall at 1:48 of the 1st period. Cole is undefeated this season.

Logan Lord won the 138 pound bracket, via a technical fall, beating Cory Jandreau of Caribou.

Chuck Hughes won his first individual title, in the 182 pound bracket, beating Gus Irwin of Dexter by a 8-0 decision.

Christopher Barnes won his first indivual title in the 195 pound weight class, pinning Dong Joon Kim of Dexter.

Landon St. Peter was runner up at 106 pounds. Matt Reid finished in 3rd place at 113 pounds and Bangor Christian's Oakly Dugans placed 3rd  at 126 pounds and John Bapst's Jared Smith placed 3rd at 220 pounds. (Dugans and Smith compete with the Ellsworth Team.

Other Ellsworth wrestlers competing were Everett Huckins (120 pounds), Audrey Ward (126 pounds), Jacob Emery-John Bapst (132 pounds), Noah Hughes (145 pounds), Sam Horne (170 pounds and Jacob Bowen-Bangor Christian (285 pounds)

106 Travis Hutchinson, Bucksport High School Fall Landon St. Peter, Ellsworth High School, 2:49
113 Codi Sirois, Penobscot Valley High School Frft Rico Ayala, Foxcroft Academy
120 Caleb Weeks, Dexter Regional High School Frft Foster Ashmore, Bucksport High School
126 Justin Wing, Dexter Regional High School Fall Brandon Weston, Foxcroft Academy, 1:59
132 RJ Nelson, Foxcroft Academy Dec Gage Stone, Dexter Regional High School, 8-3
138 Logan Lord, Ellsworth High School T-Fall Cory Jandreau, Caribou High School, 17-2
145 Devin Darveau, Bucksport High School Dec Jacob Diamond, Foxcroft Academy, 6-0
152 Peyton Cole, Ellsworth High School Fall Ricky Perkins, Bucksport High School, 1:48
160 Tyler Beem, Dexter Regional High School Dec Dustin Simmons, Foxcroft Academy, 6-4
170 Elijah Ames, Foxcroft Academy Dec Zac Wilson, Piscataquis Community High School, 9-2
182 Chuck Hughes, Ellsworth High School M-Dec Gus Irwin, Dexter Regional High School, 8-0
195 Chris Barnes, Ellsworth High School Fall DongJoon Kim, Dexter Regional High School, 2:28
220 Joe Tuuilima, Penobscot Valley High School Fall Dakota Page, Mattanawcook Academy, 4:28
285 Ben Fiske, Mattanawcook Academy Dflt Seth Padelford, Madison Area High School
106 Austin Jackson, Foxcroft Academy Dec Rylee Saucier, Caribou High School, 12-5
113 Matt Reid, Ellsworth High School Fall Ariana Merrill, Madison Area High School, 0:25
120 Grady Reardon, Foxcroft Academy Fall Caleb Robbins, Caribou High School, 1:54
126 Oakley Dugans, Bangor Christian High School Dflt Daegan Eastman, Mattanawcook Academy
132 Jacob Nadeau, Piscataquis Community High School DQ Travis Mushero, Mattanawcook Academy
138 Dakota Doane, Mattanawcook Academy Fall Josh Hesseltine, Mattanawcook Academy B, 0:51
145 Isaiah Hessiltine, Dexter Regional High School Fall Chris Bean, Mattanawcook Academy, 4:34
152 Sam Robinson, Foxcroft Academy M-Dec Kaden DeMerchant, Caribou High School, 9-1
160 Derick Robbins, Bucksport High School M-Dec Bryce Lombard, Madison Area High School, 19-10
170 Josiah Brown, Washington Academy Fall Jon Boardman, Madison Area High School, 3:51
182 Cage Lister, Caribou High School Fall Logan Cloutier, Madison Area High School, 3:27
195 Josh Whittemore, Foxcroft Academy Fall Alex Hand, Madison Area High School, 2:06
220 Jared Smith, John Bapst Memorial High School Fall Eric Bennett, Dexter Regional High School, 2:36
285 Romeo Mellits, Hermon High School Fall Jared Atkinson, Foxcroft Academy, 2:54

Thanks to Coach Burns for the results

More From WDEA Ellsworth Maine