Red Sox Hosed By Umpires
In what has to be one of the Top 10 Most Controversial plays in World Sox history, the Red Sox lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 in the bottom of the 9th inning, with the umpires calling obstruction on Will Middlebrooks at 3rd base, allowing Allen Craig to score, even though he was tagged out at the plate.
You have to see it to believe it
It's all due to Rule 7.06 Obstruction. From the rule book
OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.
Rule 2.00 (Obstruction) Comment: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered “in the act of fielding a ball.” It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball. For example: If an infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner.
Technically it doesn't matter that Middlebrooks raised his feet or not. The minute the ball got past Middlebrooks, and Craig tripped over him, that's when the obstruction occurred. It's the first time the rule has ever been called to award a runner home plate.
And if you're old enough to remember, check out Game 3 of 1975 when another interference call went against the Red Sox.
The St. Louis Cardinals now lead the best of seven World Series 2-1 with game 4 tonight and game 5 tomorrow night in St. Louis. Both games will be heard on WDEA AM 1370 with the pregames beginning at 7 PM.