The Bangor Chamber of Commerce announced it's Annual Awards on Friday, October 23rd. The awards will be presented on January 21, 2016 at the Cross Insurance Center.

The Norbert X. Dowd award will be awarded to Andrew Hamilton. The Dowd Award is given each year to a member of the business community whose commitment of time, resources and talent has made the Bangor region a better place to pursue one's livelihood and dreams. The selection criteria typically take into account the honoree's achievement over the course of his or her career.

The Business of the Year Award goes to Darling's.  As one of Maine's largest auto dealers, Darling's Auto is a model of customer and community service in the Bangor region.

The Catherine Lebowitz Award for Public Service goes to D'arcy Main-Boyington. As the Director of  Economic Development for the City of Brewer, she has the full time job of putting Brewer on the map. D'arcy has also been a tireless community advocate for the less fortunate in the greater Bangor region.

The M. Jane Irving Community Service Award goes to Eastern Maine Community College who has made a notable difference in the lives of people in the Bangor region, and helped others by enhancing community assets.

The Nonprofit of the Year Award goes to the Greater Bangor Visitor and Convention Bureau. The organization has been involved in every single effort that has been made to attract visitors to the Bangor region and enhance their experience once they have arrived

The Arthur Comstock Professional Service Award will be given to Ric Tyler.  Besides the countless hours he has volunteered as emcee for the Chamber and multiple community causes and groups, Ric is also a successful radio personality, a group fitness instructor, creative video and audio campaign producer at Sutherland Weston and co-chair of the 2016 United Way campaign.

The Bion & Dorain Foster Entrepreneurship Award goes to Husson University who, with their recently announced capital campaign, has a goal to construct a new state-of-the-art building for an innovative College of Business.

The Chamber Volunteer of the Year award goes David Dunning of S.W. Cole Engineering. This awardd is given to a person who, through his or her volunteer efforts, has made an exceptional contribution to the Chamber in furthering its mission. The winner is selected by the Chamber's staff.